PHS’ Conn leads elite squad; Thomas wins coaching honor

Teddy Paynter

PIKEVILLE — Pikeville senior pitcher Erika Conn helped guide a dominating Lady Panther squad to the state tournament and first 15th Region championship since 2002.


Conn was honored this week by being named the Medical Leader’s Player of the Year.


She helped Pikeville to an overall record of 30-8, best the region, and was a key part of the Lady Panthers reaching the All “A” Classic state finals.


She was joined on the first team by three other outstanding pitchers – Pike Central junior Haley Howell, Johnson Central senior Micailyn Pierce and Paintsville sophomore Anna Keeton.


Johnson Central sophomore Courtney Collins and Phelps junior Kryslin Obermueller were tabbed as first-team catchers.


The infield was made up of Pikeville junior Camryn Slone, South Floyd senior Cheyenne Light, Pikeville senior Emily Hughes, Betsy Layne junior Megan Frazier and East Ridge sophomore Kelsi Slone.


Outfielders named were Pikeville junior Alexis Stanley, Johnson Central senior Annie VanHoose, Letcher Central senior Grayson Collier and Pikeville senior Savanna Nunemaker.


Utility players were Belfry junior Taylor Maynard and Johnson Central sophomore Alaina Castle.


Belfry sophomore Kailee Rash was tabbed as captain of the second team. The Pirate pitcher was joined by Letcher Central senior Rachel Spangler, Phelps senior Hannah Layne and East Ridge sophomore Caitlyn Coleman.


Letcher Central senior Hannah Wampler and East Ridge senior Kailee Slone were chosen as catchers.


The infield selections were Pikeville junior Lindsey McNamee, Betsy Layne senior Summer Johnson, Allen Central senior Haley Osborne, Johnson Central sophomore Abby Fannin and East Ridge junior Britney Tackett.


Utility players were Pikeville senior Catie Rowe, Pike Central junior Autumn Cox and East Ridge senior Kelsey Damron.


Pikeville head coach Dave Thomas repeated as Coach of the Year after guiding the Lady Panthers to their most successful season in 15 years.




All Area Softball Team


Coach of the Year


Dave Thomas, Pikeville


Player of the Year


Erika Conn, Sr., Pikeville


First Team


P – Haley Howell, Jr., Pike Central


P – Erika Conn, Sr., Pikeville (Capt.)


P – Micailyn Pierce, Sr., Johnson Central


P – Anna Keeton, So., Paintsville


C – Courtney Collins, So., Johnson Central


C – Kryslin Obermuller, Jr., Phelps


INF – Camryn Slone, Jr., Pikeville


INF – Cheyenne Light, Sr., South Floyd


INF – Emily Hughes, Sr., Pikeville


INF – Megan Frazier, Jr., Betsy Layne


INF – Kelsi Slone, So., East Ridge


OUT – Alexis Stanley, Jr., Pikeville


OUT – Annie VanHoose, Sr., Johnson Central


OUT – Grayson Collier, Sr., Letcher Central


OUT – Savanna Nunemaker, Sr., Pikeville


UTL – Taylor Maynard, Jr., Belfry


UTL – Alaina Castle, So., Johnson Central


Second Team


P – Kailee Rash, So., Belfry (Capt.)


P – Rachel Spangler, Sr., Letcher Central


P – Hannah Layne, Sr., Phelps


P – Caitlyn Coleman, So., East Ridge


C – Hannah Wampler, Sr., Letcher Central


C – Kailee Slone, Sr., East Ridge


INF – Lindsey McNamee, Jr., Pikeville


INF – Summer Johnson, Sr., Betsy Layne


INF – Haley Osborne, Sr., Allen Central


INF – Abby Fannin, So., Johnson Central


INF – Britney Tackett, Jr., East Ridge


OUT – Kailey Shannon, Sr., South Floyd


OUT – Emily Compton, So., Shelby Valley


OUT – Lindsey Lockhart, So, Pikeville


OUT – Emily Deaton, So., Belfry


UTL – Catie Rowe, Sr., Pikeville


UTL – Autumn Cox, Jr., Pike Central


UTL – Kelsey Damron, Sr., East Ridge


Special honorable mention


Katie Conley, Allen Central; Ariel Mounts, Belfry; Alex Sisco, Betsy Layne; Alyssa Hedrick, Johnson Central; Alyssa Franklin, Meghan Combs, Brooklyn Collins, Letcher Central; Sonia Williams, Paintsville; Hannah Blankenship, Phelps; Cassidy Lowe, Pikeville; Alison Campbell, Emily Salisbury, Abigail Shepherd, Megan Music, Prestonsburg; Taylor Newsome, Teniesha Newsome, Ashleigh Causey, Shelby Valley; Brooke Stumbo, Katie Moore, South Floyd.