PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Pikeville senior Wyatt Battaile was named the Medical Leader’s Player of the Year.
Medical Leader│Photo by TEDDY PAYNTER

Medical Leader Boys’ All-Area Team: Pikeville’s Battaile leads elite squad

Teddy Paynter

PIKEVILLE — Pikeville’s Wyatt Battaile reached a milestone this season when he went over 2,000 points for his career.

The senior standout was the major player in the Panthers reaching the Sweet 16 the past two years.

Battaile was named the Medical Leader’s Player of the Year, announced this week. He averaged 24.1 points per game.

He is joined on the first team by a group of elite players, including Mingo Central senior Jeremy Dillon. The Miner averaged 20.1 ppg. Belfry senior Isiah Roblee averaged 22.3 ppg., and led the Pirates to the second round of the 15th Region tournament.

Other seniors include Floyd Central’s J.R. Tackett (18.5 ppg.), Pike Central’s Christian Mounts (19.6 ppg.) and Tug Valley’s Tyler May (19.5 ppg.).

Juniors named are Pikeville’s Connor Roberts (13.9 ppg.) and Johnson Central’s Jacob Rice (17.3 ppg.).

Shelby Valley sophomore Cody Potter (16.3 ppg.) and Paintsville freshman Mason Moore (17.4 ppg.) round out the first team.

Shelby Valley senior Blake Burke (15.8 ppg.) captains the second team. Two other seniors were named, including Pike Central’s L.J. Missick (14.2 ppg.) and Tug Valley’s Mason Layne (16.1 ppg.)

Second-team juniors include Floyd Central’s Brady Conn (14.4 ppg.), Letcher Central’s Gregory Kincer (14.4 ppg.) and Johnson Central’s Gabe Ferrel (11.5 ppg.).

Sophomores are Paintsville’s Seth Williams (16.7 ppg.), Phelps’ Trey Francis (17 ppg.) and Mingo Central’s Drew Hatfield (14 ppg.).

Johnson Central freshman Isaiah May (15.2 ppg.) rounds out the second team.

Letcher Central’s Elijah Raglin leads the third team as captain. The senior averaged 13.6 ppg.

Other seniors include Prestonsburg’s Phil Cornett (12.4 ppg.), Tug Valley’s Jonathan Blankenship (11.2 ppg.) and Belfry’s Devin Varney (14.5 ppg.).

Juniors include Betsy Layne’s Grant Orsborn (13.2 ppg.) and Byron Hammond (11.5 ppg.) and Shelby Valley’s Cameron Worrix (10 ppg.).

East Ridge sophomore Dalton Wellman (12.1 ppg.) rounds out the squad.

Pikeville’s Elisha Justice edged out Paintsville’s Landon Slone for Coach of the Year. Justice guided the Panthers back to the Sweet 16 for the second straight season.


Boys’ All-Area Team


Coach of the Year: Elisha Justice

Player of the Year: Wyatt Battaile


Wyatt Battaile, Sr., Pikeville, 24.1 ppg. (Capt.)

Jeremy Dillon, Sr., Mingo Central, 20.1 ppg.

Isiah Roblee, Sr. Belfry, 22.3 ppg.

J.R. Tackett, Sr., Floyd Central, 18.5 ppg.

Connor Roberts, Jr., Pikeville, 13.9 ppg.

Jacob Rice, Jr., Johnson Central, 17.3 ppg.

Mason Moore, Fr., Paintsville, 17.4 ppg.

Christian Mounts, Sr., Pike Central, 19.6 ppg.

Cody Potter, So., Shelby Valley, 16.3 ppg.

Tyler May, Sr., Tug Valley, 19.5 ppg.



Blake Burke, Sr., Shelby Valley, 15.8 ppt. (Capt.)

Isaiah May, Fr., Johnson Central, 15.2 ppg.

Brady Conn, Jr., Floyd Central, 14.4 ppg.

Gregory Kincer, Jr., Letcher Central, 14.4 ppg.

Seth Williams, So., Paintsville, 16.7 ppg.

Trey Francis, So., Phelps, 17 ppg.

L.J. Missick, Sr., Pike Central, 14.2 ppg.

Mason Layne, Sr., Tug Valley, 16.1 ppg

Drew Hatfield, So., Mingo Central,

Gabe  Ferrel, Jr., Johnson Central, 11.5 ppg.



Grant Orsborn, Jr., Betsy Layne, 13.2 ppg.

Dalton Wellman, So., East Ridge, 12.1 ppg.

Phil Cornett, Sr., Prestonsburg, 12.4 ppg.

Jonathan Blankenship, Sr., Tug Valley, 11.2 ppg.

Devin Varney, Sr., Belfry, 14.5 ppg.

Byron Hammond, Jr., Betsy Layne, 11.5 ppg.

Elijah Raglin, Sr., Letcher Central, 13.6 ppg. (Capt.)

Cameron Worrix, Jr., Shelby Valley, 10 ppg.